We have discontinued this forum and moved support tickets to the GitHub issue tracker. More info

Moderator: Steven

 
milbabes
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: 20 Dec 2015, 23:09

Error initialising SMC layer...

20 Dec 2015, 23:14

Hi,

I have recently replaced my hard drive in my 2011 imac i7 and installed windows 7 on bootcamp partition. I installed the mAcs fan Control and all seems well.

However, i seem to get the following error message intermittently when i boot up in windows:

"Error initializing SMC Layer, please make sure that your Mac system is supported and you have correctly installed the program."

I noticed from the forums that you were to add 2 seconds before it started on the windows side and that your changelog states this was done in Feb 2015.

However, I still get the error . Can you let me know a fix or is it a question of adding a further few seconds before starting after windows has started and if so - will you be adding this soon.

i look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks

M
 
zorglab
Posts: 5
Joined: 24 Dec 2015, 09:02

Re: Error initialising SMC layer...

24 Dec 2015, 09:10

Hi,
I have the same type of problem.
iMac 27 running mainly Windows 7 with BootCamp.
Using MFC 1.3.2 build 211
It works well for some weeks, then, does not load at Windows startup ; sometimes get message " Error initializing SMC layer ...", sometimes not.
Run well if I start it manually.

Zorglab
 
milbabes
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: 20 Dec 2015, 23:09

Re: Error initialising SMC layer...

04 Jan 2016, 17:28

Hi,

I do not appear to have received any response to my post. Can anyone assist. Is this a software issue. It was not resolved in your last update.

Thanks
 
User avatar
Steven
CrystalIDEA Developer
Posts: 2294
Joined: 21 Dec 2009, 11:48
Location: CrystalIDEA headquarters
Contact:

Re: Error initialising SMC layer...

04 Jan 2016, 19:45

milbabes
Sorry for not responding. I've increased the delay when MFC starts (from 2 to 4 seconds). Please this version and post your results:
http://www.crystalidea.com/downloads/ma ... up_dev.exe
 
milbabes
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: 20 Dec 2015, 23:09

Re: Error initialising SMC layer...

05 Jan 2016, 09:04

Thank you - I will give it a go and get back to you if the problem arises again.

I have installed it - it took a while as it kept coming up with an error message and the installer would not install it. Can you confirm the version you sent is 1.3.3 build 216?

M

PS - I just restarted the computer and i got the same SMC error message again. Not sure if 6 second delay may be better.
 
User avatar
Steven
CrystalIDEA Developer
Posts: 2294
Joined: 21 Dec 2009, 11:48
Location: CrystalIDEA headquarters
Contact:

Re: Error initialising SMC layer...

07 Jan 2016, 07:08

milbabes
:( I'll make a new dev version soon to try
 
User avatar
Steven
CrystalIDEA Developer
Posts: 2294
Joined: 21 Dec 2009, 11:48
Location: CrystalIDEA headquarters
Contact:

Re: Error initialising SMC layer...

08 Jan 2016, 15:36

milbabes
Please re-download the dev version (Build 217). Once smc error happens, it will display a warning message with detailed error description.
 
zorglab
Posts: 5
Joined: 24 Dec 2015, 09:02

Re: Error initialising SMC layer...

08 Jan 2016, 16:28

Since I upgrade MFC with 1.3.3 build 215 some days ago, problem disapears.
 
zorglab
Posts: 5
Joined: 24 Dec 2015, 09:02

Re: Error initialising SMC layer...

14 Jan 2016, 11:43

Strange ! Works fine for 2 weeks, then doesnot work anymore : error message at system startup (Windows) and have to start it manually.
 
User avatar
Steven
CrystalIDEA Developer
Posts: 2294
Joined: 21 Dec 2009, 11:48
Location: CrystalIDEA headquarters
Contact:

Re: Error initialising SMC layer...

15 Jan 2016, 22:09

Please download the dev version (Build 217). Once smc error happens, it will display a warning message with detailed error description.
http://www.crystalidea.com/downloads/ma ... up_dev.exe
 
zorglab
Posts: 5
Joined: 24 Dec 2015, 09:02

Re: Error initialising SMC layer...

17 Jan 2016, 18:40

Unable to install it.
Install does not start
 
zorglab
Posts: 5
Joined: 24 Dec 2015, 09:02

Re: Error initialising SMC layer...

06 Mar 2016, 16:33

I finally install it.
I have the following messages :

INFO 2016-03-06T16:19:52.102 app.cpp @ 158 "Macs Fan Control 1.3.3"
INFO 2016-03-06T16:19:52.118 app.cpp @ 159 "Windows 7 x64"
INFO 2016-03-06T16:19:52.118 app.cpp @ 160 "iMac10,1"
INFO 2016-03-06T16:19:52.118 app.cpp @ 161 "Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E7600 @ 3.06GHz"
INFO 2016-03-06T16:19:52.118 app.cpp @ 162 "Qt 5.5.1"
WARN 2016-03-06T16:19:52.118 core\smc_win.cpp @ 81 "QSmcControlWin::Open: Failed to open standard port X, trying using inpout32"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:36.860 core\smc_win.cpp @ 111 "QSmcControlWin::Open: Using inpout32 module"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:36.985 core\FanControl.cpp @ 318 "QFanControl::Init"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:36.985 core\FanControl.cpp @ 332 "QFanControl::Init - LoadCachedFansAndTempSensors"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:36.985 core\FanControl.cpp @ 337 "QFanControl::Init - FilterSupportedTempSensors"
WARN 2016-03-06T17:26:37.250 core\smc.cpp @ 366 "smc_get_temp - skipping sensor TC0C with value of 129"
WARN 2016-03-06T17:26:37.250 core\FanControl.cpp @ 225 "FilterSupportedTempSensors - skipping sensor TC0C with value of -1"
WARN 2016-03-06T17:26:37.390 core\smc.cpp @ 366 "smc_get_temp - skipping sensor TC0D with value of 129"
WARN 2016-03-06T17:26:37.390 core\FanControl.cpp @ 225 "FilterSupportedTempSensors - skipping sensor TC0D with value of -1"
WARN 2016-03-06T17:26:38.077 core\smc.cpp @ 366 "smc_get_temp - skipping sensor TN0D with value of 129"
WARN 2016-03-06T17:26:38.077 core\FanControl.cpp @ 225 "FilterSupportedTempSensors - skipping sensor TN0D with value of -1"
WARN 2016-03-06T17:26:38.358 core\smc.cpp @ 366 "smc_get_temp - skipping sensor TN0P with value of 129"
WARN 2016-03-06T17:26:38.358 core\FanControl.cpp @ 225 "FilterSupportedTempSensors - skipping sensor TN0P with value of -1"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:38.779 core\FanControl.cpp @ 341 "QFanControl::Init - smc_get_fans_control_mode"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:38.919 core\FanControl.cpp @ 82 "Fan " 0 ": auto"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:38.919 core\FanControl.cpp @ 82 "Fan " 1 ": auto"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:38.919 core\FanControl.cpp @ 82 "Fan " 2 ": auto"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:38.919 core\FanControl.cpp @ 345 "QFanControl::Init - QTempSensorSmart::loadAvailableSensors"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:38.919 core\TempSensorSmart_win.cpp @ 232 "Loading available SMART drives"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:38.919 core\TempSensorSmart_win.cpp @ 243 "GetLogicalDrives returned 284"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:38.919 core\TempSensorSmart_win.cpp @ 253 "Checking drive C:\\"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:38.919 core\TempSensorSmart_win.cpp @ 261 "Drive is fixed"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:38.919 core\TempSensorSmart_win.cpp @ 277 "Phisical disk number: 0"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:39.122 core\TempSensorSmart_win.cpp @ 303 "Adding drive \\\\.\\PHYSICALDRIVE0"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:39.122 core\TempSensorSmart_win.cpp @ 309 "Adding drive TOSHIBA DT01ACA200"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:39.122 core\TempSensorSmart_win.cpp @ 253 "Checking drive D:\\"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:39.122 core\TempSensorSmart_win.cpp @ 358 "The drive is NOT fixed (5)"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:39.122 core\TempSensorSmart_win.cpp @ 253 "Checking drive E:\\"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:39.122 core\TempSensorSmart_win.cpp @ 261 "Drive is fixed"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:39.122 core\TempSensorSmart_win.cpp @ 277 "Phisical disk number: 0"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:39.122 core\TempSensorSmart_win.cpp @ 253 "Checking drive I:\\"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:39.122 core\TempSensorSmart_win.cpp @ 358 "The drive is NOT fixed (2)"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:39.122 core\FanControl.cpp @ 349 "QFanControl::Init: number of supported SMC sensors: 9"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:39.122 core\FanControl.cpp @ 350 "QFanControl::Init: number of supported SMART sensors: 1"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:39.247 core\smc.cpp @ 324 Set fans mode 2
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:41.290 core\SensorControl.cpp @ 393 "HDD: Setting fan speed to" 1100
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:41.415 core\smc.cpp @ 324 Set fans mode 2
INFO 2016-03-06T17:27:13.099 core\smc.cpp @ 324 Set fans mode 2
"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:49.683 app.cpp @ 159 "Windows 7 x64"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:49.683 app.cpp @ 160 "iMac10,1"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:49.683 app.cpp @ 161 "Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E7600 @ 3.06GHz"
INFO 2016-03-06T17:26:49.683 app.cpp @ 162 "Qt 5.5.1"

What's wrong in it ?

Disks configuration is :
1 physical drive with 4 partitions : (?) - E:(MacOs) - (?) - C:(Windows7)
Disk I is external card reader
Disk D is DVD reader
 
ElliotPi
Posts: 1
Joined: 29 Jul 2017, 11:20

Re: Error initialising SMC layer...

05 Aug 2017, 05:25

Steven wrote:
Hi!
This message appears on computer startup or fat burners for women when launching the app manually?


Hi Zorg, I've been getting some of the same messages and I found your post by googling them lol. Anyway, did you figure out how to fix?
Last edited by ElliotPi on 30 May 2018, 08:33, edited 2 times in total.
 
User avatar
Steven
CrystalIDEA Developer
Posts: 2294
Joined: 21 Dec 2009, 11:48
Location: CrystalIDEA headquarters
Contact:

Re: Error initialising SMC layer...

05 Aug 2017, 09:26

Hi!
This message appears on computer startup or when launching the app manually?
 
hantuzun
Posts: 1
Joined: 21 Dec 2017, 09:12

Re: Error initialising SMC layer...

21 Dec 2017, 09:15

I'm getting the same error, on my Late 2012 MacBook, whose heat sensors are broken and CPU clock speed is very low.

I guess increasing the timeout to 10 or 100 times its default might fix this error for me since my computer is running very slow.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest