We have discontinued this forum and moved support tickets to the GitHub issue tracker. More info

Completely New To Macs Fan Control

Control fans on Apple hardware: iMacs, Macbooks, etc

Moderator: Steven

ITidiot

Completely New To Macs Fan Control

Post by ITidiot »

Hello,

I am completely new to this app and was hoping some one could help me with this. :O:
I am currently using a Macbook Pro, Retina Display, 2.9 GHz Intel Core i5, 6 GB 1867 MHz DDR3 and Intel Iris Graphics 6100 1536 MB.

This app was installed by a technician on my old Mac Air which was dying in a bid to save it until this new Macbook comes which was what inspired me to install this. However, I realized that I have no clue on how to use it and was wondering if it is fine to just leave the control as AUTO. However, I realize that my Macbooks temperature rises quickly yo 100deg celsius when I am watching my shows. I tried closing ALL programs but the temperature still remains high. Is there a setting that I sound be doing? :sorry:

Please help me!

Thank you so much in advance! ;)
fbl

Re: Completely New To Macs Fan Control

Post by fbl »

Once you have determined the precise model of MacBook you own, read through this thread: http://forums.crystalidea.com/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=1073 to find whether others owning the same model have determined the max temperatures for your specific model. Once you know that, you can determine for yourself how quickly you'd like the fan speeds to ramp up below that temp.